Meet Our Leadership

Curt Hunt, Lead Pastor,

Pastor Curt was appointed to Grace as Lead Pastor on July 1, 2018. A lifelong Methodist, Curt grew up in Griffith, Indiana and attended college at Purdue, Indiana University and Christian Theological Seminary. Pastor Curt has previously served at Marietta UMC, Carmel UMC, Morton Memorial UMC, Park Memorial UMC and Knightstown UMC.

Likes: Photography, golf and spending time with family and friends

Dislikes: Steep staircases

Family: Married to Cheryl who is a wonderful watercolor artist and practices hypnotherapy; son Ryan, who lives in Louisville, Kentucky; two kitties, Moonshadow and BlueBelle; one grand dog, Wicket

Ryan Traeger, Associate Pastor/Pastor of Discipleship,

Pastor Ryan started as a part time youth director in 2012 at Grace and has been growing into more responsibility engaging the congregation to take steps toward following Jesus at each age. In the summer of 2017, in addition to serving as Grace’s Associate Pastor, Ryan was dually appointed to the solo pastor at Brown Street United Methodist. 

Dislikes: balloons, glitter, and Easter grass

Education: Currently enrolled in Course of Study through Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary/University of Indianapolis.

Family: Husband of Amber and Dad to Magnolia (Olie) and Genevieve (Viv)


Charis Vander Plaats, Director of Music and Worship,

Charis joined Grace in summer 2017 to serve as our Director of Music. In this role she builds, equips, and encourages individuals and groups to provide excellent, inspirational music for worship and spiritual formation, as well as plans and coordinates worship services. She directs the Chancel Choir, Grace Kid’s Choir, and Sunday worship times. Charis also teaches regular music classes to our Readiness and Daycare students throughout the week, and leads them in music for weekly chapel.

Family: Children: Michael (11), Gabriel (7), Raphaela (4)


Cheryl Hunt, Interim Office Manager,


Pastoral Team

Partner with the lead pastor to provide pastoral care, sacraments, spiritual direction, and engage the congregation in caring for each other (report to Senior Pastor)

Lead Pastor: Curt Hunt

Pastor of Discipleship: Ryan Traeger

Pastor of Development: Dan Berger

Pastor Emeritus: Ronald Harshman

Retired Pastor: Larry Johnson


Governance Board

Serve as Staff Parish Relations, Trustees, provide accountability for lead pastor, oversee big picture finances and general budget, determine direction and focus. The Governance Board is comprised of the following church members: 

Doug Curry (Chair)

Lynn Hartwick

Maurie Denney

Ned Swanson

John Zoss

Wanda Miller

Marti Van Cleef

Matt Oates

Norma Fielding

Also participating in the Governance Board meetings are: Pastor Curt Hunt and Church Administrator-Vacant.


Leadership Team

Responsible for ongoing operations to engage the congregation in the mission and vision – they serve under the supervision of the senior pastor

Church Administrator- Vacant

IT Coordinator: Craig Denney

Pastor of Discipleship: Ryan Traeger

Hospitality Coordinator: Donna Zoss

Director of Music: Charis Vander Plaats

Director of Grace Recovery: Jason Padgett

Service Coordinator: Vacant

Interim Office Manager: Cheryl Hunt

Director of Grace Education Ministries: Anne Hough


Other staff and coordinators

Facilities Coordinator: Matt Curtis

Hospitality Team: Donna Zoss, Doris Lintner, Dave Beigh, Greg Shake

Communion Coordinator: Vacant

Sound Coordinator:  Dave Montgomery

Service musicians: Rod Ray, Donna Zoss

VIP Care Team: Marti Van Cleef